Dancer with a Tambourine. Costume Design - Russian impressionism museum

Dancer with a Tambourine. Costume Design, 1920

Pavel Tсhelitchew

Gouache on paper
30X20

Legend has it that when Konstantin Korovin was shown Pavel Tchelitchew's early works, he said: “I have nothing to teach him. He’s already an artist”. Tchelitchew was interested in art from a young age and took private lessons. He was particularly influenced by his experience in Alexndra Exter’s studio in Kiev, and experimented with cubism in his early works. The costume design from Vladimir Spivakov’s collection demonstrates a cubo-futurist approach to form and energetic movement of line.

The work was made in 1920 in Constantinople, where the artist was working with Viktor Zimin and Boris Knyazev's ballet companies. It is not known for which production Tchelitchew created this colourful, dynamic figure of a dancer with a tambourine.

Vladimir Spivakov first saw this work in the Russian Tea Room, a Russian restaurant in Manhattan, not far from Carnegie Hall. He recalls: “I had a bad experience in that concert hall. On 7 November 1977, while I was playing Bach’s Chaconne, a 3kg paint bomb hit me in the solar plexus. That was the way some people fought for the right to emigrate from the Soviet Union. . . After the concert we went to the Russian Tea Room and there I saw these works by Pavel Tchelitchew. Later I saw them at Anatoly Bekkerman’s ABA Gallery: I have a very good memory for paintings. Bekkerman, whose knowledge and taste I trust, gave them to me”.

Танцовщица с тамбурином. Эскиз театрального костюма - Музей русского импрессионизма

Танцовщица с тамбурином. Эскиз театрального костюма, 1920

Челищев Павел Фёдорович

Бумага, гуашь
30X20

Существует легенда о том, что, когда Константину Коровину показали юношеские работы Павла Челищева, Константин Алексеевич ответил: «Мне нечему его учить, он уже художник». Челищев с ранних лет увлекался искусством, брал частные уроки. Учеба в мастерской Александры Экстер в Киеве оказала значительное влияние на художника в его ранний период, отмеченный экспериментами с кубизмом. Эскиз сценического костюма из коллекции Владимира Спивакова демонстрирует кубофутуристическую трактовку форм и энергичное движение линий.

Работа была написана в 1920 году в Константинополе, где художник сотрудничал с балетными труппами Виктора Зимина и Бориса Князева. К сожалению, для какой постановки Челищев исполнил эту яркую и динамичная фигура танцовщицы с тамбурином, неизвестно.

Владимир Спиваков впервые увидел работу в «Русской чайной» — ресторане русской кухни на Манхэттене, неподалеку от Карнеги-холла. «В этом концертном зале со мной приключился инцидент, — вспоминает музыкант. — 7 ноября 1977 года во время исполнения «Чаконы» Баха в меня метнули самовзрывающуюся трехкилограммовую банку с краской, прямо в солнечное сплетение. Некоторые так своеобразно боролись за свободу выезда из СССР… После моего концерта мы пошли в «Русскую чайную» и там на стене висели эти работы Павла Челищева. Впоследствии я их увидел уже у Анатолия Беккермана в «ABA Gallery»: у меня отличная память на картинки. И Анатолий Беккерман, человек, знаниям и вкусу которого я доверяю, мне их подарил».