Spanish Dancer. Study for a portrait of Carolina Otero - Russian impressionism museum

Spanish Dancer. Study for a portrait of Carolina Otero, 1903

Sergei Vinogradov

Watercolour, pastel and coloured pencil on paper
73X60

Carolina Otero (1868–1965) was a French actress, singer and dancer of Spanish origin, a popular photographic model and symbol of the Belle Époque, and a memoirist. She was known as La Belle Otero.

Her artistic gifts notwithstanding, Carolina Otero was internationally famous for her love affairs with members of European royal families and the fact that she appeared on numerous postcards of the period.

She toured to Russia on more than one occasion. In 1893, she performed at Moscow’s Omon theatre and five years later her dancing was filmed in St. Petersburg by Félix Mesguich, an employee of the Lumière Brothers who showed their films to Nicholas II.

In that year, 1898, Mikhail Vrubel painted a portrait of the striking dancer, which is now in the Belarusian National Arts Museum, Minsk. Sergei Vinogradov depicted her in a straw hat, dressed very similarly to La Belle Otero’s costume in Mesguich’s film. He met her in Monte Carlo, where she gambled away her fortune in the casino.

The portrait and its study, which is in Vladimir Spivakov's collection, are an exact pictorial reproduction of the artist's reminiscences: “The music-hall dancer Otero was talented, striking, original, beautifully dressed, slender, very tall, with expressive hands. Her long, shapely legs would move so energetically that it seemed she might travel from the stage into the audience at any moment. She was very resourceful in her use of lighting. . .”

Испанская танцовщица. Эскиз к портрету Каролины Отеро - Музей русского импрессионизма

Испанская танцовщица. Эскиз к портрету Каролины Отеро, 1903

Сергей Арсеньевич Виноградов

Бумага, акварель, пастель, цветной карандаш
73X60

Каролина Отеро (1868–1965) — французская актриса, певица и танцовщица испанского происхождения, популярная фотомодель и символ Belle Époque, мемуаристка. Была широко известна просто как Прекрасная Отеро (La Belle Otero).

Помимо артистического дарования, международную славу Каролине Отеро приносили ее романы с особами из европейских монарших домов и частое появление на почтовых открытках того времени.

Каролина Отеро не раз оказывалась в России на гастролях. В 1893 году она выступала в московском театре Омона, а через пять лет в Петербурге ее танец был снят на кинопленку оператором Феликсом Мегишем, сотрудником братьев Люмьер, демонстрировавшим их фильмы Николаю II.

В том же 1898 году портрет эффектной танцовщицы написал Михаил Врубель (Национальный художественный музей Республики Беларусь, Минск). А в наряде с соломенной шляпкой, очень похожем на тот, в котором Прекрасная Отеро плясала на записи Мегиша, ее изобразил Сергей Виноградов. Художник встречал Каролину Отеро в Монте-Карло, где та невозмутимо проигрывала целые состояния в казино.

Живописный портрет и его эскиз из коллекции Владимира Спивакова точно иллюстрирует слова из воспоминаний художника: «В своем искусстве каскадной танцовщицы Отеро была талантлива, ярка, оригинальна, в красивейших костюмах, стройная, очень высокая, с волнующимися руками. Длинные точеные ноги в ином танце как-то стремительно наступали на зал, и, казалось, вот-вот она очутится со сцены в рядах кресел. Она пользовалась очень находчиво освещением…»